Skip to main content

European Prospects: Visual Explorations in an Undiscovered Continent

European Prospects, Ffotogallery

European Prospects, FfotogalleryEuropean Prospects: Visual Explorations in an Undiscovered Continent


148 pages
210 x 250 mm
ISBN 9781872771991


This publication features a selection of work from the ‘European Chronicles’ and ‘I see Europe!’ exhibitions staged in 2013 in ffotogallery, Cardiff, Wales. It is the first in a series presenting and critically examining European photography in the context of the European Prospects theme.

Offering a visual and creative response to the question “and where are we now?”,
‘European Prospects: Visual Explorations in an Undiscovered Continent’ is a two year collaborative project involving key arts organisations in Wales, Germany, Lithuania and France which uses photography and contemporary art to examine questions of identity and experience in an enlarged European Union. The core partners are Ffotogallery in Cardiff, Fotosommer in Stuttgart, the Lithuanian Photographers Association in Kaunas and Le Château d’Eau in Toulouse, all based in European cities that have undergone major economic and social transformation. The project offers a new space for European artists and cultural agents to share experience and practice, and achieve wider exposure in Europe for their work.

The programme has received financial support from the European Cultural Foundation, The European Union Culture Programme, Wales Arts International, the State Capital Stuttgart and Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts Baden Wurttemberg.

The featured artists:
Mindaugas Ažušilis (Lithuania), David Barnes (Wales), Alice Bruce (UK), Tina Carr & Annemarie Schöne (UK/Germany), John Duncan (Northern Ireland), Elin Hoyland (Norway), Michal Iwanowski (Poland), Anna Kurpaska (Poland), Catrine Val (Germany), Arturas Valiauga (Lithuania), Elin Høyland (Norway), Arnis Balcus (Latvia), Katharina Gaenssler (Germany), Julian Germain (UK), Ken Grant (UK), Martin Kollar (Slovakia), Geraldine Lay (France), Eva Leitolf (Germany), Frederic Lezmi (Germany), Søren Lose (Denmark), Andreas Meichsner (Germany), James Morris (UK), Marcella Müller (Germany), Krzysztof Pacholak (Poland), Jordis Antonia Schlösser (Germany), Volker Schrank (Germany), Corinne Silva (UK), Laurenz Theinert (Germany), Remigijus Treigys (Lithuania) and Arturas Valiauga (Lithuania).
(source: not available online)

About the Publisher
Since its formation in 1978, Ffotogallery has been at the forefront of new developments in photography and lens-based media in Wales and beyond, encouraging public understanding of and deeper engagement with photography and its value to society.

Leave a Reply