Skip to main content

Wait Until The Night Is Silent
Iris Andraschek

Wait Until The Night Is Silent
Iris Andraschek
Fotohof Editions


125 pages
240 x 310 mm
ISBN 9783902993168


The new artist’s book by Iris Andraschek features the self-determined alternative way of life, close to nature, of a community of people in Canada. The photographs taken in 2002 and 2010 alternate between reality and fiction. They depict an almost fairytale-like communitas as a utopian alternative to the constraints of industrial societies with their work, leisure and consumerist regimes. The series from 2002 was created during a residency in Durham, Ontario. The artist returned there again in 2010 to complete this particular work and, now that a certain period of time had elapsed, once again photographed a number of the protagonists and the location itself.

About the Artist
Iris Andraschek was born in Horn in 1963, Lower Austria. She lives and works in Vienna and Mödring, Lower Austria.

About the Publisher
Fotohof Editions has been publishing books and catalogues by Austrian and international photographers since its foundation in 1981. Over 200 mainly monographic titles have been published so far, generating a publishing house with international distribution channels.

Leave a Reply