The Living Mountain
Awoiska van der Molen

The Living Mountain, Awoiska van der Molen

The Living Mountain, Awoiska van der MolenThe Living Mountain
Awoiska van der Molen
Fw: Books

Score by Thomas Larcher


48 pages
240 x 290 mm
ISBN 9789490119881



This is the third publication in which Awoiska probes deeply into the essence of the remote unspoiled natural worlds where her images are created. The book is published alongside the music composition ‘The Living Mountain’ written by Thomas Larcher as composer-in-residence at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam. The music piece draws inspiration from photographs that Awoiska made for Larcher in the mountains of his native Tirol (Austria). The monochrome landscapes are combined with Larcher’s music scores. The title for both the composition and book is taken from Nan Shepherd’s book of poetic prose on the Cairngorms mountains, published in 1977.

About the Artist
Awoiska van der Molen (1972) is a Dutch visual artist, photography as her main tool. Her black and white images are abstract representations of anonymised landscapes that are the result of her urge to return to the place from which we stem: the uncorrupted territory of nature.

Thomas Larcher (born 16 September 1963, in Innsbruck) is an Austrian composer and pianist.

Anna “Nan” Shepherd was a Scottish Modernist writer and poet, best known for her seminal mountain memoir, The Living Mountain, based on experiences of hill walking in the Cairngorms.

About the Publisher
Fw:Books is an independent publisher in Amsterdam with a focus on photography and related topics. Photography is a unique medium; it doesn’t have a fixed way of revealing itself. We see the choice to make a book as a choice to make a new work.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.